[vc_row][vc_column width=”2/3″][vc_column_text]

The certification of household appliances became compulsory in July 2011.

1. Appliances Certification Objectives

The certification of household appliances I aim to prevent consumer accidents and protect consumers in relation to electrical, mechanical, thermal, fire and radiation hazards of appliances when in normal use.

2. Regulation

The certification of household appliances is mandatory according to:

3. Key Dates

  • 01/07/2011

From 1 July 2011 the manufacture and importation of the abovementioned apparatus for use on the national market must conform to the requirements now approved.

  • 01/07/2012

As from 1 July 2012, the abovementioned apparatus shall be marketed on the domestic market by manufacturers and importers only in accordance with the requirements which are now approved.

  • 01/07/2013

From this date the marketing of the abovementioned apparatus on the national market must comply with the requirements which are now approved.

4. Appliances that need certification

The certification of appliances and the like is necessary for appliances whose nominal voltage is not more than 250 V, for phase appliances, and 480 V for other appliances.

5. Appliances that do not need certification

  • Appliances intended exclusively for industrial purposes;
  • Appliances intended for use in places where special conditions prevail, such as explosive atmosphere (dust, vapour or gas);
  • Audio and video devices and similar electronic equipment (covered by IEC 60065);
  • Apparatus for medical purposes (covered by IEC 60601);
  • Motor-operated portable electrical tools (covered by IEC 60745);
  • Personal computers and similar equipment (covered by IEC 60950);
  • Motor-operated Semi-estacionárias power tools (covered by IEC 61029 standard);

Appliances which are already covered by specific conformity assessment programmes conducted by Inmetro, as described below:

  • Water Fountains-conformity assessment regulation for water fountains-ordinances Inmetro No. 191, of 10 December 2003;
  • Domestic gas Stoves-conformity assessment regulation for domestic gas Stoves-Ordinance Inmetro No. 18, of 15 January 2008;
  • Electric Showers-conformity assessment regulation for electric Showers-Ordinance Inmetro No. 211, of 19 June 2008;
  • Household refrigeration appliances (refrigerators and freezer)-conformity assessment regulation for household refrigeration appliances (refrigerators and freezer)-Ordinance Inmetro No. 20, of 1 February 2006;
  • Air conditioners (window and split)-conformity assessment regulation for Air conditioners (window and split)-Ordinance Inmetro No. 215, of July 2009; Annex to the carrier INMETRO No. 371/2009 2
  • Washing machines-conformity assessment regulation for washing machines-Ordinance Inmetro No. 185, of 15 September 2005;
  • Ceiling Fans-conformity assessment regulation for ceiling Fans-Ordinance Inmetro No. 113, April 7th, 2008.

Appliances which are already covered by other compliance assessment programmes of INMETRO in implementation:

  • Table fans;
  • Electric stoves and ovens;
  • Microwave ovens;
  • Clothes dryers and centrifuges;
  • Dishwashing machines;
  • Cellars
  • Commercial freezers and preservatives;
  • Accumulating hybrid heaters, heat pumps, hydromassage bathtub (pump).

6. Certification Models

Two certification models are applicable to the certification of household appliances, being the choice of supplier/manufacturer to determine which will be used by OCP, they are:

  1. Model 5 – Type test, evaluation and approval of the manufacturer’s management systems, and monitoring through the manufacturer’s audits and testing in samples withdrawn in trade;
  2. Model 1b (7) – Batch tests;

7. Certification steps

The initial certification consists of five steps:

  • Process initiation request;
  • Analysis of the request and documentation;
  • Initial audit;
  • Initial tests;
  • Issuance of the attestation of conformity.

The maintenance assessment consists of five phases:

  • Maintenance audit;
  • Maintenance tests;
  • Routine tests;
  • Issuance of the Certificate of conformity maintenance;
  • Treatment of deviations in the conformity assessment process.

8. Applicable tests

Appliances must be subjected to the following tests:

  • EMC
  • Security essays.

9. How long is my certificate valid?

The Certificate of conformity is valid for 12 months (1 year), and maintenance may be carried out in less time when there is a change in the production process or complaints about the product.

10. Product at the point of sale

Appliances may be marketed only if they have clearly and visible to the consumer the seal of identification of conformity, in addition to carrying a form of legible, permanent and indelible identification, containing the code or Product family, with the express description of each model and the markings required by the general and particular standards applicable to the product.

♦ Now that you know more about home appliances certification, what will be your next step?

I want to talk to a specialist in home appliances certification!

→ I want to know more about ICBR!

I want to ask for a quote!

[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][vc_column width=”1/3″][capital_ibox icon_fontawesome=”fa fa-power-off” ibox_icon_size=”64px” ibox_icon_color=”secondary-color” ibox_calign=”1″][/vc_column][/vc_row]