[vc_row][vc_column width=”2/3″][vc_column_text]

The certification of computer goods is voluntary since April 2012.

 1. Objectives of the certification of computer goods

The certification of computer goods is voluntary, that is, it is not mandatory, but it is a major differential in the market, because it seeks to reduce accidents, increase the quality and decrease the energy consumption of the products.

2. Regulation

The certification of computer goods is in accordance with:

  • Carrier INMETRO No. 170/2012

3. Key Dates

  • April 10, 2012;

Carrier INMETRO No. 170

  • August 21, 2015;

Carrier INMETRO No. 407

4. Computer goods that included certification

Banking equipment

  • Bank self-service box;
  • Consultation and self-service terminals;

Data processing machines and associated equipment text

  • Servers
  • Client Terminal (thin client);
  • Equipment for data storage (storages);
  • workstation;
  • desktop computers;
  • Integrated desktop computers;
  • Portable computers (notebook, laptop, and netbook):
  • Text and image digitizers (scanners);
  • Printers
  • Plotters
  • Monitors

Electronic equipment for use in offices

  • Calculators
  • Copiers
  • Shredder
  • Paper sheet manipulator equipment;
  • Paper screening machines;
  • Electric Binder;
  • Electric stapler;

Other Information technology equipment

  • Projectors and Datashow;
  • Keyed power supplies for information technology equipment.

5. Certification Models

Two certification models are applicable to computer goods, being the supplier/manufacturer’s choice to determine which will be used by OCP, they are:

  1. Model 5 – Type test, evaluation and approval of the manufacturer’s management systems, and monitoring through the manufacturer’s audits and testing in samples withdrawn in trade;
  2. Model 7 – Batch tests;

6. Certification steps

Model 5 The certification consists basically of three steps:

  • Initial assessment;
  • Maintenance assessment;
  • Evaluation of recertification.

Model 7 certification consists of only one step:

  • Initial assessment.

 7. Applicable tests

Computer goods shall be subjected to the following tests:

  • Electrical safety tests;
  • Energy efficiency tests;
  • Electromagnetic compatibility tests.

8. How long is my certificate valid?

The Certificate of conformity is valid for 2 (two) years, with annual maintenance.

9. Product at the point of sale

The computer goods have two options of stamp models, which serve to the consumer to identify and that give prominence to the product at the point of sale. One is “Security and performance”, including security, EMC and energy efficiency, of exclusive and mandatory use for desktop computers and laptops (notebook, laptop, and netbook). The other model is “security”, encompassing security and EMC, of compulsory use for all other equipment covered by the carrier INMETRO No. 170.

♦ Now that you know more about computer goods certification, what will be your next step?

I want to talk to a specialist in computer goods certification!

→ I want to know more about ICBR!

I want to ask for a quote!

[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][vc_column width=”1/3″][capital_ibox icon_fontawesome=”fa fa-laptop” ibox_icon_size=”64px” ibox_icon_color=”secondary-color” ibox_calign=”1″][/vc_column][/vc_row]